Kurdistan Regional Government

Kurdistan Regional Government.

The democratically elected Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG) exercises executive power according to the Kurdistan Region’s laws, as enacted by the Kurdistan Parliament. The current government, led by Prime Minister Barham Salih, assumed office on 28 October 2009. His Deputy is Mr Azad Barwari.

The government coalition consists of several political parties, reflecting the diversity of the Region’s people, who are Kurds, Turkmen, Chaldeans, Assyrians, Syriac, Yazidis and others living together in harmony and tolerance.

The cabinet is made up of members of the Kurdistani List coalition, which won the region’s parliamentary elections in July 2009, together with other parties. The coalition government consists of the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP), Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK), Kurdistan Islamic Movement, the Chaldean Assyrian Syriac Council, Turkmen representatives, Communists and Socialists. The government has 19 ministries.

The KRG is based in Erbil, the capital of the Kurdistan Region. It administers the governorates of Erbil, Suleimaniah and Dohuk.


Ministry of Agriculture and Water Resourceswww.moawr-krg.org

Current Minister: Jamil Sleiman Haider

Ministry of Culture and Youth Kawa

Current Minister: Mahmoud Shakir

Ministry of Educationwww.kurdistan-moe.org

Current Minister: Safeen Mohsin Dizayee

Ministry of Electricitywww.krgelectric.org

Current Minister: Yasin Sheikh Abu Bakir Muhammad Mawati

Ministry of Endowment & Religious Affairs: www.merakrg.org

Current Minister: Kamil Ali Aziz

Ministry of Finance & the Economywww.mof-krg.org

Current Minister: Bayiz Saeed Mohammad Talabani

Ministry of Health

Current Minister: Taher Abdullah Hussein Hawrami

Ministry of Higher Education & Scientific Researchwww.mhe-krg.org

Current Minister: Dlawer A.A. Ala’Aldeen

Ministry of Housing and Reconstruction

Current Minister: Kamaran Ahmed Abdullah

Ministry of Justicewww.mojkurdistan.com

Current Minister: Raouf Rashid Abdulrahman

Ministry for the Interior

Current Minister: Karim Sinjari (Abdul Karim Sultan Sinjari)

Minister of Labour and Social Affairswww.molsa-krg.com

Current Minister: Ms Asos Najib Abdullah

Ministry of Martyrs and Anfal Affairswww.momakrg.org

Current Minister: Majid Hamad Amin Jamil

Ministry of Municipalities and Tourismwww.mom-krg.org

Current Minister: Samir Abdullah Mustafa

Ministry of Natural Resources

Current Minister: Abdullah Abdulrahman Abdullah (Ashti Hawrami)

Ministry of Peshmerga Affairs:

Current Minister: Jafar Mustafa Ali

Ministry of Planningwww.mop-krg.org

Current Minister: Ali Sindi

Ministry of Trade and Industrywww.kurdistanmot.com

Current Minister: Sinan Abdulkhalq Ahmed Chalabi

Minister of Transport and Communicationswww.moc-krg.com

Current Minister: Anwar Jabali Sabo


Leave a Reply