Iraqi Central Government

Iraq is a parliamentary democracy with a federal system of government. The 2005 Iraqi constitution guarantees basic rights. The executive branch consists of the Presidency Council (one president, two vice presidents–an arrangement that may change following the March 2010 elections and the formation of a new government) and a Council of Ministers (one prime minister, two deputy prime ministers, and 37 cabinet ministers). The president is the head of state, protecting the constitution and representing the sovereignty and unity of the state, while the prime minister is the direct executive authority and commander in chief. The president and vice presidents are elected by the Council of Representatives. The prime minister is nominated by the largest bloc in the Council of Representatives. Upon designation, the prime minister names the members of his cabinet, the Council of Ministers, which is then approved by the Council of Representatives. The executive branch serves a 4-year term concurrent with that of the Council of Representatives.

Links to Ministries:

Ministry of Trade: Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research : Ministry of Comminication: Ministry of Defense: Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Ministry of Interior: Ministry of Human Rights: Ministry of Education: Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs: Ministry of Health: Ministry of Finance: Ministry of Science and Technology: Ministry of Oil: Ministry of Electricity: Ministry of Migration and Displaced:


Kurdistan Regional Government

Kurdistan Regional Government.

The democratically elected Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG) exercises executive power according to the Kurdistan Region’s laws, as enacted by the Kurdistan Parliament. The current government, led by Prime Minister Barham Salih, assumed office on 28 October 2009. His Deputy is Mr Azad Barwari.

The government coalition consists of several political parties, reflecting the diversity of the Region’s people, who are Kurds, Turkmen, Chaldeans, Assyrians, Syriac, Yazidis and others living together in harmony and tolerance.

The cabinet is made up of members of the Kurdistani List coalition, which won the region’s parliamentary elections in July 2009, together with other parties. The coalition government consists of the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP), Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK), Kurdistan Islamic Movement, the Chaldean Assyrian Syriac Council, Turkmen representatives, Communists and Socialists. The government has 19 ministries.

The KRG is based in Erbil, the capital of the Kurdistan Region. It administers the governorates of Erbil, Suleimaniah and Dohuk.

Ministry of Agriculture and Water

Current Minister: Jamil Sleiman Haider

Ministry of Culture and Youth Kawa

Current Minister: Mahmoud Shakir

Ministry of

Current Minister: Safeen Mohsin Dizayee

Ministry of

Current Minister: Yasin Sheikh Abu Bakir Muhammad Mawati

Ministry of Endowment & Religious Affairs:

Current Minister: Kamil Ali Aziz

Ministry of Finance & the

Current Minister: Bayiz Saeed Mohammad Talabani

Ministry of Health

Current Minister: Taher Abdullah Hussein Hawrami

Ministry of Higher Education & Scientific

Current Minister: Dlawer A.A. Ala’Aldeen

Ministry of Housing and Reconstruction

Current Minister: Kamaran Ahmed Abdullah

Ministry of

Current Minister: Raouf Rashid Abdulrahman

Ministry for the Interior

Current Minister: Karim Sinjari (Abdul Karim Sultan Sinjari)

Minister of Labour and Social

Current Minister: Ms Asos Najib Abdullah

Ministry of Martyrs and Anfal

Current Minister: Majid Hamad Amin Jamil

Ministry of Municipalities and

Current Minister: Samir Abdullah Mustafa

Ministry of Natural Resources

Current Minister: Abdullah Abdulrahman Abdullah (Ashti Hawrami)

Ministry of Peshmerga Affairs:

Current Minister: Jafar Mustafa Ali

Ministry of

Current Minister: Ali Sindi

Ministry of Trade and

Current Minister: Sinan Abdulkhalq Ahmed Chalabi

Minister of Transport and

Current Minister: Anwar Jabali Sabo